Chapter 2.44

2.44.010    Departments established.

*    For charter provisions as to departments of city government generally, see Charter, Art. II, § 33.

2.44.010 Departments established.

(a)    There is hereby established the following departments of city government:

(1)    Administrative services department.

(2)    City manager’s office.

(3)    Community development and services department.

(4)    Fire department.

(5)    Police department.

(b)    Each department of city government shall have the mission and purpose given it by the city council, which mission and purpose may be amended from time to time as the council deems appropriate.

(c)    Subject to approval by the city council, the city manager shall establish such positions of subordinate officers and employees in city departments as he deems necessary or convenient to carry out the mission and purpose of each department of city government. (Ord. 1394 § 1, 2017; Ord. 1356 § 2 (part), 2013: Ord. 1027 § 3, 1985: Ord. 893 § 2, 1979: prior code § 2.8).