Chapter 10.56


10.56.010    Definitions.

10.56.020    License – Required.

10.56.030    License – Fees.

10.56.040    License – Issuance.

10.56.050    Record of licenses.

10.56.060    Authority to stamp frame.

10.56.070    Transfer of ownership – Reports.

10.56.080    Change of address.

10.56.090    Destroying/altering license plates and registration cards.

10.56.100    Destroying/altering numbers of frames.

10.56.110    Violation – Penalty.

10.56.010 Definitions.

“Bicycle” means a device upon which any person may ride, propelled exclusively by human power through a belt, chain, or gears, and having either two or three wheels in a tandem or tricycle arrangement. (Ord. 551 § 3, 2002; Ord. 60 § 1, 1982)

10.56.020 License – Required.

It is unlawful for any person to operate a bicycle upon any public street, alley, sidewalk, highway, or other public property within the jurisdiction of the City without first obtaining a license issued by the City. The Department of Safety Services, or any other department designated by the City Manager, is authorized and directed to issue, upon written application therefor, a bicycle license, to any person residing within the City. License applicants who reside outside the City shall be referred to their respective city or jurisdiction of residency. (Ord. 60 § 2, 1982)

10.56.030 License – Fees.

License fees will be in accordance with those stated in Section 39004 of the California Vehicle Code. (Ord. 60 § 3, 1982)

10.56.040 License – Issuance.

A. Licenses issued by the City shall be of a type designated by the Director of the Department of Motor Vehicles of the State, and distributed by the Department pursuant to Division 16.7 of the California Vehicle Code. The City shall designate a bicycle licensing agency to issue bicycle licenses upon request by the bicycle owner.

B. The licensing clerk may authorize regularly licensed bicycle dealers to purchase blocks of licenses and upon the sale of a bicycle, issue a license and forward within 10 days of the issuance thereof the required copies of the registration to the licensing clerk. (Ord. 60 § 4, 1982)

10.56.050 Record of licenses.

The designated licensing agency shall keep a record of each bicycle license number issued pursuant to this chapter, the date of issuance of each bicycle license, the City identification number and manufacturer’s serial number of the bicycle, the make, type and model of the bicycle and the name and address of the licensee. Records shall be maintained by the designated licensing agency during the period of validity of the license or upon notification that the bicycle is no longer operated. (Ord. 60 § 5, 1982)

10.56.060 Authority to stamp frame.

Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the bicycle licensing agency or retailer, from stamping numbers on the frames of bicycles for identification purposes. (Ord. 60 § 6, 1982)

10.56.070 Transfer of ownership – Reports.

A. Owner’s Report. Pursuant to this chapter, whenever the owner of a licensed bicycle sells or otherwise disposes of a bicycle, the owner shall notify the licensing clerk within 10 days. This notice shall be in the form as required by California Vehicle Code Section 39008(a).

B. Purchaser’s Report. Any person who purchases or otherwise acquires possession of a bicycle shall, within 10 days of taking possession thereof, apply for a transfer of license and report the purchase of said bicycle to the licensing clerk. (Ord. 60 § 7, 1982)

10.56.080 Change of address.

Whenever the owner of a bicycle licensed pursuant to this chapter changes his/her address, he/she shall, within 10 days, notify in writing the designated licensing agency of the old and new address. (Ord. 60 § 8, 1982)

10.56.090 Destroying/altering license plates and registration cards.

No person shall remove, mutilate or alter any license plate or registration card during the time such license plate or registration card is in effect. (Ord. 60 § 9, 1982)

10.56.100 Destroying/altering numbers of frames.

No person shall wilfully or maliciously remove, destroy, mutilate or alter the number of any bicycle frame licensed pursuant to this chapter. (Ord. 60 § 10, 1982)

10.56.110 Violation – Penalty.

Under Section 39011 of the California Vehicle Code, violation of any provision of this chapter shall be an infraction, and no fine imposed for any such violation shall exceed the sum set forth in that section. (Ord. 60 § 11, 1982)