Chapter 13.05


13.05.010    Shoreline jurisdiction.

13.05.020    Regulated shorelines.

13.05.030    Shorelines located in potential annexation areas.

13.05.040    Shorelines and critical areas.

13.05.010 Shoreline jurisdiction.

As defined by the SMA of 1971, shorelines include certain waters of the state plus their associated “shorelands.” The city of Bothell’s shoreline jurisdiction includes the following (see Figure 13.05-1):

A.    Shoreline water body;

B.    Ordinary high water mark plus upland 200 feet;

C.    Floodways;

D.    Floodplain areas including the 100-year floodplain; and

E.    Associated wetlands.

Figure 13.05-1. Shoreline Jurisdiction Illustration

(Ord. 2112 § 3 (Exh. C), 2013).

13.05.020 Regulated shorelines.

The city’s regulated shorelines include:

A.    The Sammamish River throughout the city limits; and

B.    North Creek throughout the city limits. (Ord. 2112 § 3 (Exh. C), 2013).

13.05.030 Shorelines located in potential annexation areas.

The city has predesignated the following shorelines in the planning area outside the city limits, which are effective upon annexation:

1.    North Creek south of 196th Street SE to the northern city limits; and

2.    Swamp Creek just west of Locust Way along Cypress Way throughout the planning area located west of the current city limits. (Ord. 2112 § 3 (Exh. C), 2013).

13.05.040 Shorelines and critical areas.

Shoreline jurisdiction is not by itself considered a critical area under the Act except to the extent that specific areas located within shoreline jurisdiction qualify for critical area designation based on the definition of critical areas in Chapter 14.04 BMC. Critical areas within shoreline jurisdiction include flood hazard areas; wetlands; fish and wildlife conservation areas including tributary streams such as Horse Creek, Coal Creek and others; geologic hazard areas; and potential aquifer recharge areas. (Ord. 2112 § 3 (Exh. C), 2013).