Sec. 1.1. Name.

The municipal corporation, now existing and known as Everett, shall remain and continue a body politic and corporate in name and in fact, by the name of EVERETT.

Sec. 1.2. Boundaries.

The boundaries of the City shall be the same as at present, and they may be changed in the manner provided by law.

Sec. 1.3. Powers, Rights and Liabilities.

By and in the corporate name, the City shall have perpetual succession; shall have and exercise all powers, functions, rights and privileges now or later given or granted to, and shall be subject to all the duties, obligations, liabilities and limitations now or later imposed upon, municipal corporations of the same class, by the constitution and laws of the State of Washington, and shall have and exercise all other powers, functions, rights and privileges usually exercised by, or which are incidental to, or inhere in, municipal corporations of like character and degree. The City shall have all powers possible for a City to have under the constitution and laws of this state as fully and completely as though they were specifically enumerated in this charter.

Sec. 1.4. Construction.

The general grant of municipal power conferred by this charter is intended to confer the greatest power of local self-government consistent with the constitution of this state, and the powers of the City under this charter shall be construed liberally in favor of the City, and the specific mention of particular powers in the charter shall not be construed as limiting in any way the general powers stated in this charter.

Sec. 1.5. Intergovernmental Relations.

The City may exercise any of its powers or perform any of its functions and may participate in financing, jointly or in cooperation, by contract or otherwise, with any one or more states or political subdivisions or agencies thereof, or any municipal corporation, or the United States or any agency thereof.

Sec. 1.6. Form of Government.

Except as provided in Article XVII for the transitional period, the government of this City shall be vested in an elected Mayor and an elected Council of seven (7) members, and may be referred to as the “Mayor-Council Plan” of government.