Chapter 3.45


3.45.010    Membership—Compensation.

3.45.020    Terms of commissioners—Vacancies.

3.45.030    Officers of commission—Meetings—Quorum.

3.45.040    Powers and duties of commission.

3.45.010 Membership—Compensation.

The transportation commission shall consist of eight commissioners, who shall be appointed by majority vote of the city council from persons who reside or work within the city of Kirkland or its potential annexation area. At least three of the eight members should have some expertise in transportation related issues, such as a background in one of the following disciplines: engineering, transportation demand management, or land use planning. One member shall be a youth who, at time of appointment, is at least sixteen but not yet eighteen years of age. No commissioner shall receive any compensation for his or her services. (Ord. 3846 § 1 (part), 2002)

3.45.020 Terms of commissioners—Vacancies.

Initial terms shall be: two members for terms expiring March 31, 2004, two members for terms expiring March 31, 2005, two members for terms expiring March 31, 2006, and one member for a term expiring March 31, 2007. The youth member’s initial term shall expire March 31, 2005. Subsequent terms shall be for four years, except that subsequent terms for the youth member shall be two years. Vacancies shall be filled for the remainder of the unexpired term of the vacant position. A member’s term shall begin upon appointment by the city council and taking the usual oath of qualification. A commissioner will be expected to attend no less than eighty percent of all meetings for which there is no prearranged absence. In addition, when a member misses three or more consecutive meetings not excused by a majority vote of the transportation commission, the commission shall consider recommending removal of that member. The transportation commission shall report to city council about a member’s pattern of absence, together with the commission’s recommendation concerning removal. A member may be removed by a majority vote of the city council. A member finding themselves unable to attend regular meetings is expected to tender their resignation. A resignation will be effective on such date as designated by the resigning commission member. (Ord. 3846 § 1 (part), 2002)

3.45.030 Officers of commission—Meetings—Quorum.

Immediately after their appointment, members of the commission shall meet and organize by electing from the members of the commission a chair and a vice-chair, and such other officers as may be necessary, and adopt rules needed for the conduct of its business. The chair and vice-chair will be elected at the final meeting of each calendar year to serve a one-year term. A member may serve as chair multiple times, but not for more than two consecutive years. It shall be the duty of the chair to preside at all meetings of the commission. In the chair’s absence, the vice-chair shall preside. Five members of the commission shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business, and five affirmative votes shall be necessary to carry any proposition. Typically, a meeting of the commission shall be held at least once a month. (Ord. 3846 § 1 (part), 2002)

3.45.040 Powers and duties of commission.

The commission is directed by the city council to advise the public works department, city manager, and city council in leading the city’s efforts to create and maintain a transportation system that enhances the economic, social, and environmental quality of life in our city now and into the future. To fulfill its mission, the commission will work with the public works department to establish a two-year work plan that proactively explores, investigates, analyzes, prioritizes, develops, and recommends solutions and actions to the city manager and city council. The city council and commission will meet at least once every two years to discuss the two-year work plan for adoption by council. (Ord. 4813 § 1, 2022; Ord. 4531 § 1, 2016: Ord. 3846 § 1 (part), 2002)