3.150 Room Tax Commission.

(1) Creation. There is hereby created a Room Tax Commission for the City of Manitowoc.

(2) Composition. The Room Tax Commission shall consist of six members: the Community Development Director, Mayor, the Common Council President, the Finance Committee Chair, a member at large of the Common Council, and a representative of the Wisconsin lodging industry. The representative of the lodging industry shall be an adult resident of the City, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by a majority vote of the Common Council members who are present when the vote is taken. Members shall serve without additional compensation beyond any regular salary from the City.

(3) Terms. Pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 66.0615(1m)(c)(3), the members shall be appointed for a one-year term and shall serve at the pleasure of the Mayor and may be reappointed.

(4) Powers and Duties. The Room Tax Commission shall have the powers and duties prescribed by Wis. Stat. § 66.0615 and shall have the authority to dispense all room tax dollars received by the City as permissible under State law. Any contract entered into by the Commission shall be approved by the Common Council. The Commission shall elect from among its members a chairperson, vice chairperson and secretary. No person may serve as Chair more than three years in any five-year period.

[Ord. 16-353 § 2, 2016; Ord. 16-209 § 1, 2016]