Chapter 1.20
GENERAL PENALTY

Sections:

1.20.010    Generally.

1.20.020    Reserved.

1.20.030    Aiding in an infraction.

1.20.040    Surcharge.

1.20.050    Minor offense fine schedule.

1.20.010 Generally.

A. Unless an ordinance specifically provides otherwise, any person violating any of the provisions of this code or failing to comply with any of the mandatory requirements of this code is guilty of an infraction and shall be punished by a fine not to exceed $500.00. A defendant charged with an infraction is not entitled to a jury trial or to court-appointed counsel at public expense.

B. Any person violating a provision of this code that specifically provides that a violation of the provision is a misdemeanor is guilty of a misdemeanor and punishable by a fine not to exceed $1,000 or imprisonment of not more than 90 days, or both.

C. The borough may institute a civil action against any person who violates a borough ordinance. In addition to injunctive and compensatory relief, a civil penalty not to exceed $1,000 may be imposed for each violation. Each day, or part thereof, that a violation of a borough ordinance continues shall constitute a separate violation. [Ord. 886 § 2, 2014; Ord. 833 § 7, 2009; Ord. 290 § 5, 1973; prior code § 30.10.010.]

1.20.020 Reserved.

Repealed by Ord. 886. [Ord. 204 § 5, 1966; prior code § 30.10.015.]

1.20.030 Aiding in an infraction.

Every person who counsels, abets or aids another in the commission of a particular infraction as expressly prescribed by ordinance is guilty of an infraction and is punishable in the same manner as the principal offender. [Ord. 886 § 2, 2014; Ord. 204 § 5, 1966; prior code § 30.10.020.]

1.20.040 Surcharge.

In addition to any penalty prescribed by law, a defendant convicted of violating a borough ordinance shall pay the surcharge required under AS 12.55.039 and 29.25.074. All such surcharges collected shall be remitted to the state of Alaska as required by AS 29.25.074. [Ord. 886 § 2, 2014.]

1.20.050 Minor offense fine schedule.

In accordance with AS 29.25.070(a), citations for the following offenses may be disposed of as provided in AS 12.25.195 through 12.25.230, without a court appearance, upon payment of the fine amounts listed below plus the state surcharge required by AS 12.55.039 and 29.25.074. Fines must be paid to the police department. If an offense is not listed on a fine schedule, the defendant must appear in court to answer the charges. The Alaska Court System’s Rules of Minor Offense Procedure apply to all offenses listed below. Citations charging these offenses must meet the requirements of Minor Offense Rule 3. If a person charged with one of these offenses appears in court and is found guilty, the penalty imposed for the offense may not exceed the fine amount for that offense listed below.

The fine amounts listed below are doubled for motor vehicle or traffic offenses committed in a highway work zone or traffic safety corridor, as those terms are defined in AS 28.90.990 and 13 AAC 40.010(b).

An offense listed in this schedule may not be disposed of without court appearance if the offense is in connection with a motor vehicle accident that results in the death of a person.

 

Section

Offense

Penalty/Fine

6.05.005

Hours of operation – Licensed marijuana facility

$500.00 fine for each offense.

7.04.010

Cruelty – Abandonment

$200.00

7.04.020

Animals at large prohibited

First offense – $15.00, second offense – $50.00, third offense – $100.00. Fourth and subsequent offenses are mandatory court appearance offenses with a minimum fine of $200.00 and a maximum fine of $500.00.

7.08.010

Licensing

$25.00 fine for each offense.

7.08.020

Dog vaccination required

$50.00 fine for each offense.

7.08.030

At large – Prohibited – Nuisance declared

First offense – $15.00, second offense – $50.00, third offense – $100.00. Fourth and subsequent offenses are mandatory court appearance offenses with a minimum fine of $200.00 and a maximum fine of $500.00.

7.08.035

Objectionable animals

First offense – $15.00, second offense – $50.00, third offense – $100.00. Fourth and subsequent offenses are mandatory court appearance offenses with a minimum fine of $200.00 and a maximum fine of $500.00.

7.08.040

Restraint requirements

First offense – $15.00, second offense – $50.00, third offense – $100.00. Fourth and subsequent offenses are mandatory court appearance offenses with a minimum fine of $200.00 and a maximum fine of $500.00.

7.08.045 and 7.08.050

Off-leash areas and off-leash area rules

First offense – $15.00, second offense – $50.00, third offense – $100.00. Fourth and subsequent offenses are mandatory court appearance offenses with a minimum fine of $200.00 and a maximum fine of $500.00.

7.08.115

Potentially dangerous and dangerous dogs: violation of restrictions, confinement requirements, and sign requirements

First offense – $200.00. Second and subsequent offenses are mandatory court appearance offenses with a minimum fine of $300.00 and a maximum fine of $500.00.

7.08.120

Biting dog – Confinement

First offense – $200.00. Second and subsequent offenses are mandatory court appearance offenses with a minimum fine of $300.00 and a maximum fine of $500.00.

7.08.140

Proclamation to confine all dogs during epidemic

First offense – $200.00. Second and subsequent offenses are mandatory court appearance offenses with a minimum fine of $300.00 and a maximum fine of $500.00.

7.08.150

Interference with animal enforcement agents

First offense – $200.00. Second and subsequent offenses are mandatory court appearance offenses with a minimum fine of $300.00 and a maximum fine of $500.00.

9.08.080

Accumulations of rubbish and materials prohibited

$100.00 fine for each offense.

9.12.020, 9.12.030, and 9.12.040

Fireworks where prohibited; sale where prohibited; display violations

First offense – $200.00. Second and subsequent offenses are mandatory court appearance offenses with a minimum fine of $300.00 and a maximum fine of $500.00.

9.16.020

Deposit in public places

0 – 1 pound = $50.00 fine, 1 – 5 pounds = $150.00 fine, 6 – 10 pounds = $250.00, 11 – 15 pounds = $350.00 fine, 15+ pounds = $500.00 fine.

9.16.030

Maintaining sidewalks free of litter

$75.00 fine for each offense.

9.16.040

Deposit from vehicles prohibited

$75.00 fine for each offense.

9.16.050

Operating litter-generating vehicles prohibited

0 – 1 pound = $50.00 fine, 1 – 5 pounds = $150.00 fine, 6 – 10 pounds = $250.00, 11 – 15 pounds = $350.00 fine, 15+ pounds = $500.00 fine.

9.16.060

Deposit on private property prohibited

0 – 1 pound = $50.00 fine, 1 – 5 pounds = $150.00 fine, 6 – 10 pounds = $250.00, 11 – 15 pounds = $350.00 fine, 15+ pounds = $500.00 fine.

9.16.070

Property owner’s responsibility to maintain premises

$75.00 fine for each offense.

9.16.080

Handbills – Restrictions generally

$75.00 fine for each offense.

9.16.090

Handbills – Distribution on private property

$75.00 fine for each offense.

9.16.100

Posting notices prohibited

$50.00 fine for each offense.

10.18.010

Abuse of 911 system

First offense – $200.00. Second and subsequent offenses are mandatory court appearance offenses with a minimum fine of $300.00 and a maximum fine of $500.00.

10.36.010

Discharge of firearms and other weapons prohibited within certain areas

First offense – $200.00. Second and subsequent offenses are mandatory court appearance offenses with a minimum fine of $300.00 and a maximum fine of $500.00.

10.44.010

Possession, control, or consumption of alcoholic beverages by persons under 21 years of age

$500.00 fine for each offense.

10.46.010(A)(1)

Consumption of marijuana in a public place prohibited

$100.00 fine for each offense.

10.46.010(A)(2)

Consume marijuana outdoors adjacent to public place without consent of property owner

$100.00 fine for each offense.

10.48.010

Possession of tobacco by a minor under 19 years of age

$75.00 fine for each offense.

11.28.020

Prohibited parking places

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.28.030

Red-painted curbs and signs – No parking

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.28.040

Time-limit parking

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.28.080

Blocking roadway prohibited

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.28.090

Bus stop and passenger zone – Parking prohibited

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.28.100

Loading and unloading materials

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.28.130

Method of parking – Loading permits

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.30.030

Parking in excess of posted time limit – Parking lots

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.30.040

Proper parking required – Parking lots

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.30.050

Vehicles and objects prohibited – Parking lots

$75.00 fine for each offense.

11.36.060

Stop when traffic obstructed

$75.00 fine for each offense.

11.36.070

Bicycle restrictions on sidewalks

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.36.080

U-turns prohibited

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.36.100

Dragging objects prohibited

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.36.110

Projecting loads on passenger vehicles

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.36.160

Use of coaster, rollerskates, skateboards, sleds and skis

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.36.170

Excessive acceleration

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.64.010

Sound trucks – Permit required

$100.00 fine for each offense.

11.68.020

Registration required

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.68.030

Required equipment

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.68.040

Snowmobile operation restricted

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.68.050

Designated right-of-way

$50.00 fine for each offense.

11.76.020

Junk vehicles unlawful

$50.00 fine for each offense. Each 10 days shall constitute a separate violation.

14.09.005

Speeding

$150.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.015

Hazard to navigation

$100.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.020

Failure to register

$25.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.025

Improper mooring

$25.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.030

Inadequate equipment

$50.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.035

Improper use of facilities

$50.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.040

Improper waste disposal

$50.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.045

Improper petroleum product disposal

$100.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.050

Improper care and control of animals

$25.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.055

Water sports

$25.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.065

Improper use of seaplane float

$50.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.070

Improper use of a loading zone

$25.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.075

Improper use of fire equipment

$100.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.080

Improper use of utilities

$50.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.085

Tampering and defacing signs

$25.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.090

Nuisance

$100.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.095

Failure to comply with rules, regulations or procedures

$100.00 fine for each offense.

14.09.100

Obstruct or impede use of any launch ramp

$50.00 fine for each offense.

15.04.550

Unauthorized turning on or off of service

$250.00 fine for each offense.

15.04.620

Fire hydrant restrictions

$250.00 fine for each offense.

15.04.650

Water Shortage Management Plan – Violations and Charges – Nonindustrial/noncommercial water customers

Stage II water shortage:
First offense – written warning.
Second and subsequent offenses – $250.00 fine for each offense.

15.04.650

Water Shortage Management Plan – Violations and Charges – Nonindustrial/noncommercial water customers

Stage III water shortage:
First offense – written warning.
Second and subsequent offenses – $500.00 fine for each offense.

15.04.650

Water Shortage Management Plan – Violations and Charges – Industrial or commercial water customers

Stage II water shortage:
First offense – written warning.
Second and subsequent offenses – $750.00 fine for each offense.

15.04.650

Water Shortage Management Plan – Violations and Charges – Industrial or commercial water customers

Stage III water shortage:
First offense – written warning.
Second and subsequent offenses – $1,500 fine for each offense.

15.18.030

Refuse containers – Required

$150.00 fine for each offense.

15.18.032

Refuse containers – Maintained

$150.00 fine for each offense.

15.18.050

Disposal of offensive refuse prohibited

$150.00 fine for each offense.

15.18.052

Burning of certain materials prohibited

$150.00 fine for each offense.

15.18.075

Monofill disposal permit and fees

$150.00 fine for each offense.

20.92.020

Building/structure declared unlawful and a public nuisance

$100.00 fine for each offense.

[Ord. 936 § 2, 2017; Ord. 934 § 2, 2017; Ord. 927 § 2, 2016; Ord. 914 § 2, 2016; Ord. 912 § 2, 2015; Ord. 907 § 2, 2015; Ord. 894 § 2, 2015; Ord. 889 § 2, 2014; Ord. 886 § 2, 2014.]